Up To My Armpits In Pollen

On another jaunt with my grandson today. I took him to his driving theory exam. He passed, so celebrated with another Maccy D's drive thru, beef this time. Spots have appeared on his nose so I've declared a Mc Donald's moratorium. :)

My pic is a pair of Oedemera lurida beetles on a thistle flower. Whenever I see a fat thistle I think of the Callard and Bowser's butterscotch that my granny bought me when I accompanied her on a coach tour to Scotland in the fifties. It was in a white box about the size of a cigarette packet embossed with a Scotch thistle. The butterscotch was gorgeous and in individually wrapped fingers. 

I think my thistle is probably a spear thistle, I've just read that the Scotch thistle, Onopordum acanthium, is actually rare in Scotland. :)  



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.