The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Danish lunch

The girls went back to work so I had most of the day spare before flying back to the UK, so I arranged to go for lunch with Lesley, my 'almost mother-in-law' (my sister's long-term boyfriend's mum), and her partner Flemming. They're currently living in Copenhagen as Flemming is Danish.

We met at the city hall and they took me to a lovely place for lunch to have more of the traditional Danish smørrebrød, this time very different and using herring, capers and onions. We had it with beers and snaps, a small shot of alcohol which again is very traditional. It was all fantastic and it was great to catch up with them both.

We said goodbye and I got the metro to the airport. I got there with plenty of time to spare but then unfortunately the flight was delayed due to protesters earlier in the day at Heathrow. When I eventually landed, my dad had kindly offered to pick me up to get back in time for a meal with some of the New Zealanders on their last night. We were treated to one of my parents' famous roast dinners - my first since leaving the UK last year - and it was so fantastic!

Unfortunately I'd been getting toothache for a few days and it was getting worse and kept me awake until really late at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.