Merchant of Venice

'In sooth, I know not why I am so sad:
It wearies me; you say it wearies you;
But how I caught it, found it, or came by it,
What stuff 'tis made of, whereof it is born,
I am to learn;
And such a want-wit sadness makes of me,
That I have much ado to know myself.'

And with these words, Jamie Ballard's outstanding Antonio set William Shakespeare's 'Merchant of Venice' in motion.

It was a wonderful production. In many ways an uncomfortable one with the question of Shylock's open humiliation laid bare against the clear hostility of his alien status. I read the play for my A level and it bothered me then. Now even more so.

It is interesting that for every 10 people that watch this play, there could be 10 different takes. Such is the cleverness of both the play and almost certainly this fine production.

Saw many of the actors in The Dirty Duck afterwards. Such is the splendour of the RSC at Stratford upon Avon.

I've had a lovely evening with my dear pal & sister, Judith.

I would also like to mention that a precious man passed away this morning. Paul - rest in peace.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.