The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Jarred Love

Pickles are a lot like people. Some are salty, some are sour, and there are those that are down right dillies.

I am not a huge fan of pickles. In fact, I only like those of the "Bread & Butter" variety. They are not too sweet, and not too sour. They are perfect. Especially with added onions.

Pictured here are the ultimate Bread & Butter pickles. They are infused with New Mexico chilies, peppercorns, mustard seeds, and love.

Yes, love.

The love of a very special person. A woman who is selfless and caring. A woman who I have known since I was 12 year old. An old friend who I had grown apart from, and was recently reunited with. One of my favorite people.

Like me, she loves to cook. She also makes pickles! Fantastic pickles! They are crisp, sweet, hot, and the inspiration for today's "Blip."

My friend has a heart of gold. Sometimes, this gets her hurt. She never gives up on people. She is an inspiration to others, a motivator, and has an incredible sense of humor. She sounds like a model Girl Scout.

Last week, my wonderful friend lost her mom in a battle with Alzheimer's Disease. I had the honor of attending the funeral yesterday. I kept thinking about the marvelous grilled cheese sandwiches that I savored at her home. A simple treat, made into an explosion of flavor with a squirt of ketchup added before the melt-down.

I attended the service with two other high school classmates. We chose to sit near the front, and were able to witness the family as they honored their loved one. I could not help but smile as I witnessed the tenderness and unconditional love that my friend showed to her 92-year old father.

Her arm wrapped around him, as she smiled and whispered good things, protecting and respecting the 57 years of love that he was releasing into God's hands.

The scene brought tears to my eyes, yet I felt a sense of joy in my heart.

A joy that made me smile, and remember why I was friends with this woman.

Today, I opened the jar of pickles that I managed to bring back to New Jersey from a recent "reunion" of sorts. A bittersweet moment in time, filled with laughter and tears.

The pickles were outstanding, but I could not help but taste the love that was packed inside.

The love of faith, hope, and perseverance.

The love of a lifelong friend.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.