We're In a Pickle

My neighbor Diane stopped over yesterday and announced, "Tomorrow's the day. Tomorrow is pickling day", to which I replied, "OK, I'll be there."

Each year, for the last few years that we've been neighbors, Diane has given me a few jars of her out-of-this-world home made pickles. Noticing how much I enjoyed eating the pickles, she invited me a few months ago to join her in making the pickles. I wholeheartedly jumped at the chance.

Diane had all the components prepped: pickles washed, jars sterilized, lids sterilized, bowls of fresh garlic, red chilis, and fresh dill set out, and two big bubbling hot pots of brine on the stove (vinegar, water, and salt). 

Between the three of us (me, Diane, another friend of hers) we stuffed 50 pounds of pickles into jars with the spices, and then carefully hand ladled the hot liquid into each jar, sealed with the lids, and covered to hold in the heat until vacuum sealed. It was fun, it went fast, and in about six weeks we will reap the fruits (or pickles) of today's labor. Delicious dill pickles!

EXTRA PHOTOS  (at right) show pickles in low temp oven to warm the jars in order to avoid thermal shock to the glass when the hot brine is poured, and also the pouring of the brine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.