Barman's Blips

By barman58

Harry Potter? no, it's a Potter Wasp

Today's blip shows a Potter or mason Wasp of, I believe, the odynerus species.

These wasps are interesting as some species actually create a POT shaped nest structure which are believed to be the inspiration for early Native American Pot designs.

Today was really a day of missed opportunities as, whilst setting up for and taking this shot, I missed a kingfisher perched on a branch behind me Doh!

I also missed a singing Blackcap, and various insects including a Painted Lady and Red Admiral.

On a better note I did manage my first Banded Demoiselle of 2012.

I also saw this Harlequin Ladybird which I have reported to the Harlequin Ladybird Survey.

I would advise anyone else noting this species in the UK should also report it, as knowledge is needed to monitor the spread of this potentiall, very destructive, invasive species

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.