Larch and brass

While on Skye recently we spent the night in Broadford and popped into an antiques/junk/secondhand book shop when they were just about to close. The proprietor was stuffing all the outside  displays inside for the night, including quite a number of chainsaw carvings. 

I fell in love with this otter on the spot and decided that I couldn't come away without it!  The only thing I'm not keen on are the whiskers - made of metal and turned over at the tips no doubt to satisfy the Health & Safety people! I might think about replacing them.

I also took a fancy to a real oddity - a Douglas DC 3 Dakota, in brass, which proved when we returned home to weigh 7 pounds 12 ounces! Obviously home made, slightly rough, but undoubtedly a Dakota. The seller knew nothing about it except that it was part of a local house clearance - she referred to it as a mantique!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.