'n Kiekie 'n Dag

By Sanri

Wednesday treat

We had steaks on the stone again. Just because I made it to Wednesday without spitting in someone's eye.

I did, however, tell my "manager" (I use the word loosely, because managing isn't something that comes to him - naturally or otherwise) that I don't get any managerial support. Of course he blamed the problem on the fact that we are understaffed. Yes, we are understaffed and that is because:

i. Our admin support is now off on holiday for 2 weeks.
ii. Knowing this, they sacked the temp who could (at the very least) do scanning and copying for the next 2 weeks until M is back.
iii. My collegue (the only collegue) hasn't been in the office so far this week due to illness.
When I left on holiday we were 4. Since Monday I was the only one.
iv. I was off for a week with nobody doing my work while I'm off.
v. 18 new files were added during the week on top of the 50 that's sitting in the cabinet not been looked at yet; some since May.

vi. Since I started in May last year, only counting my department, 14 people left and another 1 is leaving on Friday. In 15 months we shrunk from 14 to 4 + 3 temps + a new managerial post, filled, but not with someone with managerial skills. All this while the volume of work coming in, did not  change.

Very good managerial observation skills to realise we are understaffed.

Enough of that. It is still sunny and warm, but apparantly not for long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.