The Flag is returned

I had intending changing buses at Musselburgh but abandoned my plans when I found that the buses were being diverted due to the annual Ride Out. This involves taking the Flag and riding several miles around the boundaries of Musselburgh with 157 horses (I think) taking part today. The ‘Honest Lad’ is given the responsibility of returning the flag ‘unsullied and unstained’ afterwards to the Town Hall. (see the extra).  Then the horses and riders go on to Musselburgh Race course where the principal group of riders race down the track to a great welcome from the crowd.  Few probably noticed in the distance, planes taking part in the Air Display at East Fortune or the coloured trails from the Red Arrows as they swooped beyond an intervening cloud.  Probably they did notice the sun disappear as the gathering dark clouds soon unleashed the rain but fortunately not till I was within a minute walk from my house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.