A very good day!

Today was one of those sublimely good days that don't come around too often. 
As you know I have been feeling very sad and washed out recently and to be honest I even considered giving up blipping quite a few times! 
Well today was wonderful! I decided to go out and see what I could find between the days of rain. 
I mooched around the car park at Iping common for a while, and got some good shots of the giant tachnid fly , Tachina grossa, and the frenetic little bee Anthrophora bimaculata , (I will put a shot of him cleaning his beautiful huge blue eyes in my extras for today).
On leaving Iping I went across country to Storrington and my favourite meadow, hoping to see more Chalkhill blue butterflies...on my way back to the car I lingered at the wooden road markers, looking for lizards, and managed to get a shot of one beauty shedding it's skin, (which I will also put in my extras for you).
While I was doing this some people I know who were also there came running after me saying I should rush back as they had just found a White letter hairstreak!!!!
I rushed back only to find it had flown off, so we spent the next hour waiting for the sun to re-appear so it would start nectering again on the Hemp agrimony...eventually our patience paid off, and I was rewarded with my shot for today , a beautiful White-letter hairstreak Satyrium w-album, a butterfly I have never seen or photographed before so I was very, very pleased!
The White-letter hairstreak is often very elusive flying round the tops of trees and only coming down briefly to nectar in the evening or early morning. It's sole food plant is Elm, and it takes it's name from the white letter W on the hindwing.
If you get time please look at my extras, as they were very special too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.