Big mama...

artichoke!!

I blipped our supper the other day and someone said they hadn't seen an artichoke flower so I thought I would blip one for them.. this is a really big artichoke... perhaps the size of two clasped fists and covered in those pesky black pollen beetles that we are being over run with round here this year.  

In other news I spotted yet another (3rd) wasps nest today in the virginia creeper on the end of the house.. I tried to see how big it was under the leaves and realised it was quite enormous!! On closer inspection I realised that they have built their nest inside our smaller bird box and are now happily wrapping the whole box in an outer casing of paper.. quite an astonishing thing to see.. we might have to remove some leaves (under cover of darkness) to get a photo of it.. I have never seen anything like it!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.