Tarawera Times

By Megl

Wall to wall trout!

Not one of my better photos, but just wanted to share something that I have never seen before.

Neighbour Darryl popped in this morning to let me know about the large number of trout that had congregated in a small pocket of a spawning stream, just down the road. In all the years that she has lived here, never before has she seen them in this number.

We just couldn't believe our eyes, they were wall to wall, Ian counted at least 40 in this small pool. Although it was a bit dark, the bits of light filtering through were causing reflections and Murphy's Law, I didn't have my polariser filter with me, so back along the road to get it. Quite hard to get into, climbing amongst the ferns and trees, but made it apart from getting a boot full of water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.