cyclops

By cyclops

Blight


I love my mobile phone. I love being connected by voice, text, e-mail and web to the world whenever I want to be, and I love being able to turn it off or ignore it when I don't. Mobile technology has made the world smaller, and has made it so much easier to be productive when out of the office or home. I love what it delivers to me.

BUT it has it's down sides. Constant ringtones and chatter in public places, loud conversations on trains and busses, radiation scares (even though I don't believe 'em). Mobile phones are disposable, their plastic and chemical nasties surviving long after their useful life is over. Then there are the masts.

Not all masts are related to mobile phones certainly, and I don't know if this one is or not. But the hilltop this mast is on has two others, and I'm certain that at least 2 of the 3 are there to service mobile telecommunications. This beautiful, tranquil spot is this invaded by ugly steel towers. It doesn't stop there either. Security fences, equipment buildings and access tracks all leave their mark on the landscape. In the urban environment masts are often hidden or included in other structures such as lamp-posts, CCTV posts or buildings, but here there is nowhere for them to hide.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.