Perpetually

By humblebee

Vittorio Emanuele II

This statue of Vittorio Emanuele II is located in Piazza Italia, Perugia. He was born on the 14th March 1820 and died on the 9th January 1878. He was king of Sardinia from 1849 until the 17th March 1861 when he became the first king of a united Italy since the 6th century.

It's an imposing statue. From a distance I first mistook the plume on the helmet as a pigeon. I said to myself, "I will have to come back with a camera in case it happens again." Twas no pigeon! It's a pleasant area with cuddling couples sitting on benches looking out onto pond-like fountains.

The weather is very nice today. I need to have my hair cut but I have been nervous about going to a barber. It's difficult enough chatting with hairdressers in English at home never mind in a language with which I remain uneasy. I might just wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.