The Next Leg...

We packed up this morning from our lovely Bavarian chalet and I (Annie) drove Chris and the girls back to Munich airport. We took the longer, more wiggly, country route, as Munich seems to be being dug up in all the crucial places; we kept getting stuck in traffic on all other attempts to drive through the city.

It's always odd to drop them at a foreign airport and then leave alone - and always with a sharp reminder that it's now just me in the car as I get to the car park barrier and have to get out and walk round to put the ticket in (this always gives the car behind a laugh at my foolish trot at motorway toll booths...)! It's been a really great holiday and quiet now without my travelling companions...

But - onwards for the journey home! This was a relatively short trip for me today, past Stuttgart to the very pretty Gernsbach in the tip of the Black Forest. I'm staying in the very beautiful Schloss Eberstein, right on top of a hill and looking down across its own vineyards and onto the rolling forested hills. The blip was my view from my dinner table on the terrace - not bad! I had a glass of their Prosecco made from their own vines as an aperitif - well, it's only polite!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.