Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Looking back.

Today's bike ride starts off in glorious sunshine, if a little chilly. I decide on a clockwise ride to East Lothian as the forecast says there will be a SE breeze.

By the time I get to Musselburgh, it has warmed up. I head out along the coast to Cockenzie before heading inland to Tranent, Pencaitland and East Saltoun. I head towards Gifford, then take the B road to Humbie and the A68.

Fortunately the A road is quite quiet and I can easily turn left, then right on to the B road to head past Soutra Aisle. The blue sky is being replaced with grey clouds and the wind is picking up. By the time I get to the A7, it really is grey.

I follow the A7 north for a wee while, then turn off at Heriot on to another B road. From here I'm blown up the road. I stop halfway along to take this picture looking back down the road I have just traveled, looking down Heriot Water. The clouds are looking a bit angry, but there's no rain.

From here I carry on west, before heading north to Middleton. A big climb followed by a big descent. To get home from here I head west passing  Gladhouse Reservoir and Mount Lothian. Above Penicuik, I head north through Auchendinny and follow the Seafield Moor Road to Hillend, then into Edinburgh at Fairmilehead.

Total distance 104.9km, 65.2miles.

The afternoon is spent in Morningside doing a bit of necessary shopping, and obtaining a well deserved coffee and cake. Get home just before the rain starts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.