mef13

By mef13

This Way

I am often worried about a plethora of road signs and other street furniture at road junctions on major highways, yet fortunately they are at a minimum at this busy crossroads on the A36 in southern England.
Of course, when you are driving in an unfamiliar area, clear and efficient direction is vital, whether or not you use satellite navigation.
But sometimes it seems, highway authorities go over the top, and when they do the result is that direction becomes confusing.
On one occasion I became completely disorientated as I left a motorway and entered a roundabout which crossed the motorway with what seemed a multiplicity of exits and signs— suffice to say I found myself rejoining the motorway and having to drive two miles or more to the next  junction and then retrace my steps.
Satnavs are a help of course, but even these marvels of navigational technology can get it wrong.  On this same stretch of the A36 road between Salisbury and Southampton, one system I was using directed me to leave the main road and took me on a detour only to rejoin the main road two junctions further on. In another part of Hampshire, a local farmer told me of the day he was astounded to see a container truck driving up the unmade track to the farm, to have the driver tell him his satnav was leading him that way.
A couple of weeks ago I saw that the start of the unmade roadway was now well signed, warning drivers that whatever their satnav indicated, it was not a through road to anywhere.

So while I acknowledge that road directional signs are vital for driver information, clear uncluttered directions as on this junction are the favoured bet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.