BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Tea, Scones & Waterstones

I was
having tea and scones
in Waterstones,

photographing a photograph

of The Smiths,
glancing at my new books and eavesdropping
on four not so young women
chatting about men…



He says
I can have 5 years in Manchester
to sort myself out. Five years!



He said,
‘I’ve been cheated of your love.’



He thinks
he’ll be welcomed back with open arms.
He can think again. It ain’t going to happen.



He, Mark,
has a son. His son says I’m the best thing
to happen to his dad. Lovely lad.



She says
she’s just his best friend.


I think
she’s jealous of anyone else being with him.


I think
she’s in love with him.

Why else would she say such bad things about him?
She just wants to put me off.



Don’t you
know his surname yet? Find  out.
He could be married.


We’ll have
to vet him for you love.


What She Said

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.