Ice fishing?

Monday 27th July 2015 (1065)

A bit more of a productive day today. 

I love my camera but there are a couple of features I would like that it is missing - exposure longer than 15s and an intervalometer for time lapse. Last night I finally figured out how to load CHDK (Canon Hack Development Kit) on to my old camera. It now has these two facilities. But, with a grey sky there was no opportunity to test it on rolling clouds or a starry night sky. 

I decided to test it on a time lapse of a melting ice cube and it was semi successful. I'd need to play with lighting a bit more. It's amazing how long it takes to actually melt an ice cube when the room is chilly! It also made me realise how limited my old camera is and how much more focus control I have on my current one. (When I feel brave I'll run CHDK on that one.) I didn't feel any of the pictures were good enough for blip so I used my current one to try and get some sharp shots of the ice. 

I checked on the computer but decided they still weren't interesting enough. When I went back to try again I found I had entered the miniworld and the little fisherman had taken over my set. He'd better beware of the iceberg!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.