Two cities – spires and ships

We went to Chichester today, a place I have never been to. I was impressed with this lovely city and its fine walls and cathedral. I loved the splendid Gothic Market Cross (see below), built in 1501 to provide shelter for market traders, and still at the centre of the shopping area.

I have loved seeing Brens’ blips of the beautiful cathedral and longed to see it for myself. It is indeed a special place and we spent quite a time there. I think in the end though I was most impressed with this stained glass window. It was designed by Marc Chagall, made by Charles Marq and dedicated in 1978. The theme is Psalm 150 – ‘O praise God in his holiness – Let everything that hath breath praise the Lord’. The sheer exuberance of the colours and shapes and figures is quite wonderful and reflects the words perfectly.
 
There is also in the cathedral currently an astonishing exhibition of paintings by Chris Gollon – Women from the Bible. I have added ‘Judas’s Wife’ in the extras. I am not sure whether I like the paintings, I can’t imagine ‘like’ is the right word to describe anyone’s reaction, but my goodness they make you stop and consider.
   
Then we went on to Portsmouth and down to the Historic Dockyard. Gordon went onto HMS Victory; I sat in a café and read my book!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.