Walking near Dunkeld

Today was a club walk.  I have in the last few weeks commented that although the weather this spring and summer has been considered quite bad, as a club we have been very lucky with our walks, very rarely having walked in the rain and having to wear jackets.

That all changed today...... we started out from Dunkeld, and for about half an hour we had it dry, then it pelted, we got soaked, and for the rest of the day we had rain, some very heavy, some lighter but just as wet!!!!   It was a great test of our walking gear, and I am delighted to say that mine stood the test, and I was still dry underneath and didn't have to change my clothes when we got back to the coach!     Thank the Lord for Goretex!!!!

My feet were very wet though, mainly because I gave up trying to jump the burns and rivers that had appeared with the heavy rain and just walked through them!   The HG had his gaiters on, which I had neglected to put on, and his feet were dry!   My main photo shows some of our walkers arriving at the fishing hut on a small lochan on our way.  My extra photos show some of the walk too!

Ach well!!!!   We had a nice hour in the Royal at Dunkeld, soaking up some beer and wine before heading home.

And we all said we had a good day..... LOL

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.