francophile

well, the new addition to the stable arrived today! Took a break from reading Proust to build/adjust this new arrival. It's been nearly three years since I've ridden/owned a bike with gears; I am overdue to have that option in the rotation again.

I have always had a soft spot for these late 80s Peugeot ten/twelve speeds (this is a twelve). Downtube shifters, quill stem, obnoxiously sized brake cables. It's all there and in stellar condition (pristine white leather tape, new Michelin wheels). I know the bicycle division of the company changed hands a bit in the 90s and I'm not too sure of the history but my frame does say "Made in France." This poor guy on eBay didn't know what he had--I got a killer deal. It is also rare to find such a steed in my size (my inseam is frustratingly short--I am all torso).

After all this, headed up to Avoca to make some great headway on Proust for class tomorrow afternoon. Did about 3.5 straight hours and plan to do about as much later this evening to wrap up. Felt very productive despite taking a wee break to sample some of Garold's new project, a special brew of bourbon whiskey and coffee.

The day started off overcast and mild (great to read around the house) but that quickly changed back into our typically disgusting North Texas swamp-assery. Maybe when the sun goes down, after dinner, Leah and I will head out to the Trinity for a little ride, take the new (old) wheels for a petit pirouette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.