Gifts of Grace

By grace

Coastal Path

Chez Ceridwen Day 2
Woke to a day of bright blue bluster, keen but hesitant to walk the cliff path so familiar from Ceridwen's blips.  I am always drawn to the sea but have hiked less and less since incurring ankle and knee injuries - at a ceilidh and on my bike respectively.  The ankle never quite healed properly and I'm over-protective of the knee as I know just how vulnerable they are now.

But the day, the dog and the company proved irresistible.  I'm glad they did.  C. is as nimble as a goat, Casey and I took turns bringing up the rear, 'though he romped the downhill stretches whilst I paused for breath and took in the stunning views.  So much wider than mine at home, you can't help but inhale more deeply.

Somehow very touching to see in 3D the cove where the seals are born and the cliffs where the seabirds nest.   More miles through deep bracken and more clambering up and down than I've done in years lead to tea and cake in a sunny spot outside the harbour cafe.  C knows everyone, I think. We talked a little about Blip, the connections, before hiking back up a shorter route home through green lanes.  Casey and I both retired for a lie down.  When I woke and wandered back to the main house Glyn and C were cooking up a feast of stuffed vegetables.  Did I mention that this was a foodie household?  Glyn's dad arrived in time for dinner.  

I KNOW there was rich conversation, wine, food, Casey curled up beneath the table, kittens ditto upstairs.  By the time we reached the cheeseboard, and the glut of raspberries from the garden with cream I was ready to join the sleepy creatures in my own cosy nest across the yard.

To be continued.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.