Heading to the minnow pond

Do you see Asia is napping in the sun on the bottom of the canoe? She loves to go with us, but being 14, sometimes she takes a nap instead of looking around like Chloe is. Steve and I paddled around Simcoe Island to the "minnow pond" yesterday. Simcoe is only 1/4 mile from Wolfe Island. This pond is truly more like a lagoon that you get to by taking your boat around the island and through a small opening. It always feels like a magical place. There are water lilies, turtles sunning, great blue herons and lots of fish. It's called the minnow pond because when Steve was a boy, they would go here to try to catch minnows! He got that name from his dad, but he says other people in the family call it the Lily pond. I will place it on the map -look under more info, the location symbol on the left.

In the "extra photos" I will share a photo of us canoeing in the minnow pond, it is very different from being out on the St Lawrence River. I also took a lot of photos of the inside of the Big House yesterday, which I will share on flickr when we return home. They are quite interesting, but better as a group and I can't do much uploading while here. Yesterday, I could not upload anything because the internet just was not working! Such is life on an island. 
We worked on adding preservative to the cedar siding of the cottage and went for a swim in the cold St Lawrence River. Check the "extra photos"! If you are on a tablet or mobile device I don't believe that feature works (it doesn't for me) but if you are on a laptop or computer, it should. The last photo of me swimming shows Simcoe Island behind me. Only accessible by a 2 car cable ferry from Wolfe Island, or by boat.  4 more days here . . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.