Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Tightrope Walker

This day seems to have lasted forever. We were being collected at 5.30am for the 6.30am ferry to Rhodes, so we set the alarm for 4.30am. Just to remind you; that's 2.30am UK time. Got to Rhodes by around 8.15. And our flight home was at 4.40pm. After a breakfast in a very nice patisserie we had a wander round the new town (the old town is well worth a view but we've seen it many times), nipped into Marks & Spencer to cool down as it's like a fridge in there, and then went to the Archaeological Museum to kill some time. If you're ever stuck on Rhodes, it's worth a look. We eventually got back to Gatwick at about 7pm and after getting through the airport got the train to Bedford, arriving there at just after 10.30pm. Taxi home, and we got in the house at 11.00pm. I make that almost 20 hours actual travelling time, but that is the price you pay to go to a more remote island!

Although I'm shattered I just need to unwind a bit before I go to sleep, so thought I would do my Blip. This was taken from the ferry in Symi harbour this morning at about 6.15am; a Turkish gulet struggling to free it's anchor chain. If you look closely, you can see the harbourmaster doing some fancy acrobatics on the rope beneath the prow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.