Purple orchid

The first flower of another orchid has opened.

The worst thing of living on your own is that you are on your own. These are words that I heard someone say recently and they could not be more true. What I’ve missed so much since mum’s passing is that she’s not there to come home to anymore. Simply to be able to share my day with her; to tell her all the little annoying, frustrating or funny things that have happened and that only someone you’ve shared most of your life with would be interested in. Rosie does her best to take my mind of those difficult moments, but there’s only so much a rabbit can do and giving a response to what I tell her is not one of them. Although it would not be the same, waiting for one of my brother’s fortnightly visits and telling him instead would be a possibility if I thought he would want to hear about my days, but I know him well enough to safely say that he would be even less interested in them than Rosie is.

The main reason why I used to enjoy photography is because I could show the photo I’d taken to my mother. Since losing her, there is barely any of that enjoyment left though and for quite a while now it has felt more like a struggle than anything else. I will try to keep taking photos because, if I were to stop altogether, it may be even more difficult to start again, but at the moment I don’t feel up to making an extra effort anymore. I can only hope that, with time, I’ll eventually be able to do that again and that the pleasure in taking photos will one day return. Until then, please forgive me for any boring, uninteresting or even rubbish entries that I may post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.