Queen Anne’s Lace Table at the Governors Palace

We spent the day touring Williamsburg, a place both my husband and I have visited on several occasions, but it was a first for the twins.  We started early at the Governor’s Palace and after touring the building, we spent some time in the beautiful surrounding gardens with the requisite maze.  I find these days that I am very easily distracted by flying creatures, and this day was no different.  I am sure I also had Tiny Tuesday in the back of my mind when I saw this wasp on the Queen Anne’s Lace next to the pond.   

Jamestown and Williamsburg sit on a peninsula that extends into the mouth of the Chesapeake Bay,  with the York River and James River on each side.  Because of the proximity to the ocean, there were some lovely breezes which helped considerably in the 90+ degree weather as we walked around the “Revolutionary City.”  

We were quite delighted to see the news this morning about the most recent archeological findings from Jamestown, announced by the Smithsonian Institute.  Our guide the day before could barely contain his excitement when he mentioned that these findings would be revealed the very next day.  There have been so many new archeological findings at Jamestown since our last visit that it looked like an entirely different place. If you are interested in more about these findings and the forensics and technology used in these discoveries, here is a LINK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.