a milestone

A new recipe for my breakfast smoothie today.

Two nectarines, two (big) strawberries, yoghurt and a little honey. Delicious, and unusual for me to go fo something with no "zing" (ginger or garlic) in it.

The strawberries are from Perthshire.

The yoghurt is from near Dumfries.

Loch Arthur

The rest involved some food miles, I confess. On the plus side, all of it was bought in local shops.

My healthy start gave me the courage I needed to visit my Ma. Now 89 and in a care home for the last 4 years.

A milestone visit, I suppose. No hint of recognition when I came into the room. Last time she recognised me, but didn't know why.

N had volunteered to make the trip with me (the old girl is in North Berwick, just across the water from here but a 70 minute drive each way) to help me recover from the ordeal of the visit.

Usually the recovery takes a couple of days, but being able to start by having brunch with N has probably been a big help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.