Flat Bales

July is not a great time of year for campervan owners, at least it's not for me because all the expenses come together. First it's the insurance, which is a cross between car insurance, contents insurance and travel/breakdown insurance. Next comes the habitation check, which ensures all the water systems, heating, gas supplies and things are all safe. Then it's the mechanical service and MOT and finally the road fund licence. With 2.5 litre turbo diesel this isn't a £30 a year job.

That's all done now and she went through the car wash this morning. It didn't do a very good job of getting the remaining bugs off the front from the french trip, so this afternoon Marian and I got all the chemicals out. We cleaned the bugs off, polished the paint, cleaned the windows and the chrome bits. She's gleaming now.

I've blipped this barley field several times this season and when I got there this evening, the baling of the straw was still going on. I don't know if they're going to be stacked up or taken straight in, I'm not sure what the process is with these new style bales but I'll have another look tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.