Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Machen Medieval Longhouse Sunset

On the mountain behind my house is a late medieval longhouse that is now derelict. I can just about see the chimney from the third floor balcony. I thought it would be a good idea to try and capture it with the sun setting.

The fern were a lot bigger than I thought they'd be and it was like pushing my way through a jungle! I found a bit of a vantage point and holding the camera above my head managed to get a couple of the last vestiges of sun setting over the ruin.

The description of a longhouse and how it evolved is:

 Firstly, apart from the obvious, why is a 'longhouse' so called? Amazingly the term originated in Wales when the 'longhouse' was literally described as 'ty hir' or again literally, 'house long'. In its basic form the longhouse is of two rooms divided by a cross passage. To one side of the passage ('above') was the hall where there was a fire and where the men and women lived. On the other side of the passage ('below') were the cattle in their shippon, heads to the outside walls and a dung channel between them with a drain hole at the lower end. Longhouses were more often than not built lengthwise down a gentle slope and this helps to explain the use of the words 'above' and 'below' the passage. Cattle and men shared the same entrance into the passage with a wall or screen on the upper side through which a door entered into the hall. On the lower side the entrance to the shippon was often open.

About half hour after this the sky was a stunning mass of red hues but I didn't know this would happen and was home.

I'm working a rare night shift tonight and can't wait. There's supposedly a rare blue moon tonight and hopefully I may be able to capture it. Can't be bad being out photographing and getting paid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.