Portsmouth and beyond...

By johnnyc1959

My back pages...

Extract from todays blog... which is occupying my time until I start work again! Full story here...

"...So, here I am at Leeds University in 1978 studying economics and politics, for reasons that had as much to do with having no clear idea of what I wanted to do, as they had to belief and idealism.... But...ideas remain formless without words, which probably explains why a 'Song & Dance Man' has also had a significant impact on how I think about things. Which takes me to the Headrow in Leeds, and this picture...

Online ticketing...booking fees...sold out before you even knew that tickets were available? No...Bob Dylan plays at Earls Court in June 1978...tickets go on sale just a month earlier. The cutting is from Leeds Student, which says "...hundreds of students were prepared to camp out on the Headrow just to get a ticket for one of (the) five concerts at the 17,000 capacity Earl's Court...next month.

Tickets went on sale simultaneously at 10 am...at 14 outlets over the country, including Barker's of Leeds. Barkers were allocated 1,980 tickets..."


How the times have changed...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.