A welcome visitor

This morning's run was interesting. I went along Dawson Road to the edge of the Mahurangi estuary, and then back by way of the dairy for the Saturday newspaper. On the way down the hill to the water, three birds flew rapidly across in front of me. From their shape and flight pattern, I think they were some sort of parrot. Too fast and not enough light to identify them. 

In a pine tree by the edge of a creek running into the estuary, were two kawau tui (little black shags). It seems that they were courting. One displayed (his) spread wings while the other watched. Then the other twisted (her) head back and around while squawking. My photos were interesting but not clear due to low light and distance up the tree.

On the way back up the hill I saw again a Eurasian skylark, circling and singing as he ascended (it appears that this is male behaviour). I got a surprisingly clear silhouette to confirm my identification from sound and behaviour. This gives me 54 species seen identified and photographed so far this year (my stamp collecting past coming through!).

Late this afternoon, I took some photos of the work being done on a path down towards the cliff edge from the beach house. As well as garden on the steep slopes, there are steps, steps a path and a retaining wall. As I was about to go back inside, a piwakawaka (fantail) flew over me to feast on the insects I had disturbed. A quick change of lens, and I was able to get this photo.

Today's extras are the lark (which I was up with), the kawau tui in their courting, the last part of the path (it stops where the cliff drops away relatively steeply), and a photo of tonight's sunset. The last two wouldn't load

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.