Return to the North

By Viking

Hei Matau

This week is Maori language week and I have been trying some of my limited language with the students.
The fish-hook shape of the hei matau finds its origins in Māori legend, which holds that the North Island of New Zealand was once a huge fish that was caught by the great mariner Maui using only a woven line and a hook made from the jawbone of his grandmother.Legend holds that the shape of Hawke Bay is that of the hei matau, which caught in the fish's side on the beach. The Māori name for the North island, Te Ika a Maui ("The fish of Maui") reflects this legend.
This is a shot of my own Hei Matau that graves my wall.

A day of chores and then an evening spent with friends and their two children. I cooked a chook with the trimmings but J was disappointed that I hadn't done Yorkshire Puddings! I did however allow her to try some of my Yorkshire Tea :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.