Half truths

It's hard to listen to the gorgeous David Gilmour sing 'Comfortably Numb' and not stop dead in your tracks and wonder how on earth it was possible to:

A. Pink Floyd to write such a song. The anthem rises as it just pulls you higher and higher until you soar with your thoughts and hopes and dreams and aspirations and fears and hurt - my god...
B. I do stop and I ask myself the how. As a song such as this fills my veins, my thoughts turn inevitably to the passing of time and dear friends and my very role in this thing we call life right here, right now.

I turned the radio on earlier and there was someone being especially earnest about a very important subject and telling us all to be very forceful to get what our very humanity deserves and I just thought to myself who is he / we kidding. It's wonderful that many in life feel empowered and indeed can inspire others to stand up higher than they ever felt possible, and yet many in life do not have these attributes to stand tall and take on all comers. I have seen how the strong sneer at the 'weak' and yet I often am left asking who is truly the weak one?

After a week where the news included the senseless hunting of a 'brave' dentist and an unsuspecting lion, you realise that comfortably numb might just be one of the best places to be... The fact that this man, who dared take a bow and arrow against a hunted and beautiful endangered creature, decided to use as one of his defences the thought that he didn't know the lion was so famous adds even more insult to the gravest of deeds. In our world it remains more acceptable to erase the nameless than the named. Our media is full of it, the gossip columns thrive on it, our night time TV revels in it. Fame and fortune over a life well lived, and yet...

Do you have those pockets of moments when you realise that there is a super strong movement in our world where people truly do love for one another? Have you sensed the live current of goodness that comes out of nature right into your heart? Lie on the grass, let the sun kiss your face. Listen to the birds singing and let the life all around tend it's music to your soul. That, for me, is comfortably numb.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.