Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Do not adjust your set ....

One of my longer term projects is to photograph London's major hospitals. Slightly weird I know but from a social history and architectural point of view quite interesting to capture the evolution from red brick Victorian buildings with their gothic flourishes, through the utilitarian concrete blocks of the 1960s to the coloured glass towers of recent times. Today I had a bit of time to wander around the outside of the new Royal London Hospital and came across this underpass beneath one of the huge new towers. For some reason the underside of the building over the road has a shiny reflective surface, consequently anyone being decanted from an ambulance can, assuming they are conscious and capable, look up and see themselves being wheeled in. I think I'd find that a bit disconcerting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.