MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Sleepy Head

After work I went to the lake around which the offices are built. I knew there were two baby coots and I was aiming for a shot of them. As I walked round I could see them but I did not get a single decent photo as they scampered over the water lilies. Further along the bank three of the four cygnet were dozing with one sharp eyed adult keeping watch; the other cygnet and adult were on the lake feeding. So I could not resist this one - on its own while the other two huddled together.
There was a belief that upon death the otherwise silent Mute Swan would sing beautifully - hence the phrase swan song. The adult keeping watch didn't have to make a sound to let me know I was in trouble if I went too close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.