fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Pricey Poppies

When I saw the sun peeking out today, I knew I wanted to go on a poppy hunt. I also knew which area of the countryside has a glorious poppy display year on year. So I set off in Daisy, my little micra.

While trundling along I little lane I spotted the above field, so I slowly reversed back to park in a convenient lay-by. Unfortunately I didn't spot the park bench right at the edge of the verge and hidden behind the long grass. You know that lurch in your stomach when you hear the crunch? Well, that was nothing compared to the sinking of my heart when I pulled forward and heard my rear bumper trailing on the tarmac.

Having studied the situation I realised there was no easy fix, so I tied all the bits back on in roughly the right place with my bootlaces. I then proceeded to take my blip, but my heart really wasn't in it any more.

I guess tomorrow I'll have to 'man-up' and take Daisy in to a body shop. I hate having to get my car sorted - I'm a complete car numpty and never know whether I'm having the wool pulled over my eyes.

Edit: I'm stressing about the money, but this came into my mind and is very relevant I thought I'd share as it relates to the picture:

Has anyone by fussing in front of the mirror ever gotten taller by so much as an inch? All this time and money wasted on fashion-do you think it makes that much difference? Instead of looking at the fashions, walk out into the fields and look at the wildflowers. They never primp or shop, but have you ever seen color and design quite like it? The ten best-dressed men and women in the country look shabby alongside them.

If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers-most of which are never even seen-don't you think he'll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I'm trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God's giving. People who don't know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don't worry about missing out. You'll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.

Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don't get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

(Matthew 6:27-34, The Message Translation)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.