Haworth Art Gallery

Mr A has been ill since Thursday food poisoning from an out of date sandwich at work, so I've had to try and keep myself amused.

This afternoon, I decided to have a walk up the hill to Haworth Art Gallery. This is another place that I've never been to, despite living in Accrington all my life and now also living less than half a mile from it.

The Haworth Art Gallery is an Edwardian arts and crafts house set in 9 acres of its own parkland.
The mansion is the perfect setting for the internationally renowned collection of Tiffany Glass, reputed to be the largest public collection outside of the USA. The Tiffany collection is on permanent display and consists of over 140 items including glass tiles, vases and mosaics. There is also an excellent collection of 19th Century oil paintings.
The Gallery also hosts a programme of temporary exhibitions which are refreshed on a regular basis. The theme this month is 'Planes, trains and automobiles'.

It is also used as a wedding venue; I can see the appeal as it's a very picturesque place with stunning views across the local landscape.

Hard to believe this is in Accrington!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.