I say! It's Hackley Bay!

With Tess off to the Turra Show with the Martins and Dave making a determined effort to do nothing from the house on the last day of the holidays, Sam and I headed off to join Kim, where she introduced Wendy, Katie, Sam and I to a brand new place, Hackley Bay, off Forvie Moor, accessed via a couple of miles coastal walk from the Forvie visitor centre.

I can't believe this wee gem has been only 10 minutes drive away for 13 years and I've never been there. Nature boy gave it the thumbs up, all sorts to see. Beautiful sunshine day, one for wetsuits in the sea - not as brave as the folk I saw swimming without them today - if I'd only known this place existed, we'd have swam for sure. But the picnic beach-side was just the ticket, with Jaffa cakes for pudding.

Encounter with a roe deer as we left, luckily at the last second it decided not to leap in front of the car. Thanks Kim for showing us this lovely place

Collieston ice cream hunt didn't go quite to plan, our convoy looking very much the part of a Doric / mums on tour Italian Job, as we weaved in and out the dead ends, but Newburgh stepped into the breach to serve up the ice creams on the way home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.