Dormant Dinghy

A safe anchorage, the weather closing in... when our river is broody like she was tonight it always reminds me of a song, a memory from bygone days that speaks so strongly to me 

Ship to shore, do you read me anymore?
This line is bad and fadin'
Ship to shore, answer my call
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home



I have been to see the world, tasted life at every turn
And all the time your face came back to haunt me
Day by day the feelin' grew, I know I'm still in love with you
The further that I go the more I know it, I wanna show it



Ship to shore, do you read me anymore?
This line is bad, and fadin'
Ship to shore, answer my call
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home



Movin' fast, all systems go, you and I had time to grow
Before there was a breakdown in transmission
How I wish that we could turn the clock back to the days
When we were lovers in the true sense of the meanin'
You must believe me



Ship to shore, do you read me anymore?
This line is bad, I'm drownin'
Ship to shore, answer my call
Send me a signal, a beacon to bring me home

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.