Poppy - Symbol of Sleep and Dreams

Bit of an emergency blip today - other things are taking up my time - mainly getting ready for visitors - housework and shopping!  Recorded 24 degrees on way to town.  Big hold-up in traffic due to horrible accident - ambulances and police cars in abundance. I hope the driver is OK . It occurred in a place where I would have thought it was impossible to have an accident. The heat in the car can be horrendous I guess at the moment - maybe that got to the driver. I had my roof down thank goodness.  Although it is very hot there is quite a wind so I decided to take my Poppy indoors to photograph. The Poppy has many symbols, but the one I favour is symbol of sleep and dreams.  It is the symbol of Morpheus, the Greek god of dreams.   He lived in a world of dreams and fantasy – completely removed from reality.  He was destined to rule the world of dreams.  After all he had no choice, it was in his genes  -  his mother is Nyx, the goddess of night and dark creations, and his father is Hypnos the god of sleep. Have a nice day:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.