Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Seeing spots...

Another hummingibrd ... I just can't help myself. In a few months, they'll be gone so I am feeling like I want to capture as many images as possible while they are still around.  I chose this photo, not because paticularly good, but because you can clearly see his first few bright red gorget feathers.  I remember the first time I saw this and thought that the bird had been wounded and was bleeding...I was in a panic, trying to decide what to do.  When I finally realized that it wasn't blood, but the first "big boy feathers", I felt a bit foolish.  And I was glad I hadn't made a late-night call to the local avian rehab center!

I spent a few hours over at Kittatinny Valley State Park this afternoon, chasing dragons, butterflies and bees.  It was hot and windy. The wind was nice because it helped dry the sweat  keep me somewhat cool but it was also a pain because all the flowers were blowing madly about, making it hard to focus on anything.  Even so, I managed to get some images that I am very happy with.  I saw a season-first dragon and a couple of dragons I couldn't immediately identify, plus loads of butterflies and bees.

I posted 7 photos on Flickr, starting HERE with the season-first Banded Pennant.  If you only have time to look at one shot, though, have a look at this one of another juvenile male hummer, drinking the lazy easy way made me chuckle when I saw it!

I'm hopelessly far behind on comments - mea culpa.  

Counting down to Friday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.