Waiting for a Bus on Yorkshire Day

I cycled over to Pool in the hope of seeing the boys play cricket, Roam having travelled up to join Forrest in the first team as a number of players were away this weekend. The forecast I saw the previous evening, and I thought I saw in the morning, suggested a lovely sunny afternoon. I don't think I can remember sitting out and watching the cricket in warm weather all summer so I was rather looking forward to it. Just as I left it started to spot with rain. It grew a little more persistent, then eased off. I got texts from Roam saying the covers had come on and then that they were back off.

By the time I pitched up at the ground the covers were on again and the rain had well and truly set in. There was little wind and a blanket of grey cloud. The suggestion was that it was going to rain all afternoon. There was little left to do but to cycle back. I got soaked. Even the sandwich I'd taken with me to eat later got soaked! The very moment I got in the house, standing in a deepening puddle of my own creation, the rain stopped and the sun came out! All quite fitting for Yorkshire Day really.

They did eventually get on to play late in the afternoon and lost heavily in a short 20 over a side game. It seemed like I didn't miss too much. That set the tone for a strange weekend where nothing happened quite as planned or expected or hoped.

NB On a more positive note, passing through Otley on the way to Pool I spotted a great looking guy smoking a pipe. Despite the rain I had to stop to ask for a picture and was soon joined by his wife Violet. They were a wonderfully lively and engaging couple, and had some great stories to tell. I was absolutely astonished when they told me they had been married for 55 years! They'd even been childhood sweethearts. The spark in their eyes had not dimmed a bit in all that time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.