A FLOTILLA...

... of planes!

By far my favourite is the little 5" long block plane - the black one in the middle which I bought in 1968 & has done sterling service on almost every instrument I've ever worked on ever since. Since '68 I've had to replace the blade twice!!

CC has copped on to its virtues which means too often I'll take 20 minutes to find it where he thoughtlessly discarded it. I used to berate him furiously - but have learned to swear under my breath...

The others are mostly finger planes which come in handy when carving arch-topped/arch-backed instruments.

Yeah, I have big buggers which are 20" long and then there's CC's industrial thicknessing plane which trips the fuses of the workshop every other time he turns it on...

I like the little ones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.