this luminous life.

By Laura

A Change Is Gonna Come.

Sam Cooke.

I was in Grant Park tonight in Chicago among thousands of supporters anticipating the results of the election and awaiting Obama's acceptance speech. I'll never forget the tears. The smiles. The cheers. The hugs.

The streets of Chicago were crowded with happy people, even blocks away from the rally. People united. No violence erupted. Obama supporters applauded McCain when he gave his speech (I have more respect for him now). American citizens were just excited to finally be heard and are eager to do what they can to help one another.

Quick video of crowd at Jackson & Michigan.

I've never been a very patriotic person but standing there in the crowd and feeling the power of millions of people uniting for a better country gave me a sense of awe and pride for this country.

I've never seen such excitement for the United States.
We are all anticipating change. It will happen.
The future is in our hands. Finally. Change is here.

I'm ready to Barack America!

EDIT: I admit I am concerned about Americans doing their part during the next four years. While the response and support for change is overwhelming, I hope citizens don't sit back and leave things entirely in Obama's hands but instead, continue to be active politically, socially, and culturally to help achieve the goals America wants to see. We must keep going forward!

[A year ago today... autumn landscape on the hill.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.