hungry/foolish

By sbreingan

Donnie Darko

First off 50 blips without missing a day. I know its not a blip-birthday or anything but I'm impressed I've managed so far. I think I can do another 50...

As part of the Edinburgh International Film Festival there are outdoor screenings over the next few days in St. Andrews Square. Very much free! Very probably cold!

Went with Mrs B to go and see Donnie Darko. Weird to think this film is over 10 years old. I remember going to see it when I was about 17 at the Filmhouse. It was my first real introduction to more 'indie' cinema, and had quite a profound effect on my relationship with films. I was with a bunch of friends, we had no expectations and it just blew us away. We endlessly discussed various theories for weeks afterwards.

Rewatching it today, it is quite pretentious, but at the time, for a certain group of teenagers, it felt like quite a defining film.

Things I hadn't noticed before - Seth Rogen is in this film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.