shotlandka's weebig world

By shotlandka

Out and about in Savannah

It is hot here. Very, very hot! Also very, very pretty. I love seeing all the Spanish moss (and I know it's neither Spanish nor moss, but hey) in the trees. It was hard to choose a blip today, but I have to say that the local colour of giving the crossing man a hula hoop to make life on a road sign more interesting decided me on this shot. His other half has to get by with a more boring life sans hula-ing across the road. I should also say that this is on the edge of Forsyth Park, a key location in Savannah's historic district. I spent much of the day wandering, getting my bearings, visiting a museum (many more to come), eating very good seafood and being reminded of exactly how car-centric American culture is. After getting all my messages (shopping) done on day 1 so I can relax for the rest of the time, I spent 55 minutes waiting for a bus at one of the biggest malls in town. For those in Glasgow, think a larger Silverburn, served by a grand total of two bus routes, both of which run once per hour after 6pm. And the bus timetable I was given at the tourist information is out of date, hence waiting for 55 minutes, as I could have been out in time if the bus timetable said the bus was at 9.00, I was just sitting in a cafe in the air conditioned mall to wait) but it didn't, it said 9.13, so I went out at 9.05 to be in plenty of time... And I won't bore you with the 'fun' entailed in getting across the (wide) road from the mall to another set of shops and then back again for the bus. But all in all a good day, though feet are a little sore from walking in sweaty sandals, but there'll be more of that in the next few days, temperature supposed to be about 35C on Wednesday and Thursday, before starting to rain on Friday and Saturday (Friday being the day I'm going to the beach - and no, I can't go before that as the shuttle only runs Fri-Sun). Thankfully the historic centre is easily walk-able, especially for a Brit, and full of interesting things to see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.