Grandchildren

Yesterday I talked to Oliver about surveying and showed him my old equipment.   Today he came round, with his sister, Victoria, to play with my old equipment and to get some experience in using it.  I got them both to measure the height difference between our floor level and the pond, also the highest point that water has ever reached in our garden in the last fifty years.  (We have a good two metres plus to go before we get water in the house, probably a once in one thousand years event.)  They also measured their distance from the house and the length of the house, using survey techniques.  Both of them appeared to thoroughly enjoy learning how to use the equipment and actually achieved quite realistic measurement results. 

Today’s blip is once again a picture Mrs GOG took, this time of me discussing some aspects of surveying with the grandchildren.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.