splf...my story

By uknowme

Selma's Peonies

I don't shoot flowers for flowers sake...even though they are beautiful. They must have a story. And spring Peonies have only one message...my Mom.

Every year she looked forward to the peonies short but colorful life in our back yard. Mother's Day 1989 she got rushed to the hospital unable to breathe. Three days later, diagnosed with severe lung cancer, Doctors said Mom had to head for hospice.

I am not about "ME" often but one of my best life decisions was to put my foot down on that. Rushed to the hospital, given a fatal diagnosis and then being told you'll never go home? I DON'T THINK SO!!! All she wanted was to pet her dog and see her peonies one more time.

I remember arriving at the hospital at 6am to stalk her doctor and find out what it would take to bring her home. Hospital bed, oxygen, 24 hour care and in-home hospice...check. 24 hours later a white limousine picked her up from the hospital, with her sister inside, drove around the city and dropped her off at home.

She spent a week with Travis the dog and peonies in the yard and house...and died peacefully the night before Father's Day.

They're not just flowers....they're for my Mom!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.