May All Beings Be Peaceful

I spent the morning writing a 'story' for a solicitor. This afternoon was dull. Jazzy and I found an amazingly sturdy spider's labyrinth anchored to brickwork and a bramble. I got a shot of the builder sitting protectively at the entrance. I also photographed a poor grasshopper which had lost both of its antennae. :(

I've decided to post the lovely bracelet that my sister from France bought for me. She bought one exactly the same for my fourth sister to thank us for all we have done for the family. The inscription is a Metta prayer. 

May all beings be peaceful.
May all beings be happy.
May all beings be safe.
May all beings awaken to the light of their true nature.
May all beings be free.

Like Metta, the Möbius shape has no beginning and no end.

I've photographed the bracelet on a card sent to me by my uncle, again thanking us for what we have done for the family. The card is by Angela Bailey from Loddon in Norfolk of a Peace rose. I'm not into roses like some of you Blippers but I do remember Peace from our garden as a child. I was interested to read that its proper name is Rosa 'Madame A. Meilland'. In early 1945 rose grower Meilland wrote to Field Marshal Alan Brooke (later Viscount Alanbrooke), the principal author of the master strategy that won the Second World War, to thank him for his key part in the liberation of France and to ask if Brooke would give his name to the rose. Brooke declined saying that, though he was honoured to be asked, his name would soon be forgotten and a much better and more enduring name would be "Peace".

I also remember the rose Masquerade, so aptly named as it opened yellow, turned pink and finally to red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.